Living a Life of PRAISE



God First

I’ve been a bit discouraged in not being able to keep up with this blog page as much as I would like so I thought the least I could do was post some devotionals I wrote for our church a few weeks ago. Our pastor was doing a series on prayer so heres the first one:

MY VOICE YOU SHALL HEAR IN THE MORNING, O LORD;
IN THE MORNING I WILL DIRECT IT TO YOU,
AND I WILL LOOK UP.
Psalm 5:3

So many things in life keep us from God like sickness, laziness, busyness, kids, jobs, or even thinking we’re doing okay without Him. When I allow these things to over ride my devotion to God, my life never goes well. I end up frustrated before I even make it downstairs. However, when I do have morning time devoted to God I am filled with peace and excitement for the day.

Another translation says “I wait expectantly” instead of “I will look up”. Isn’t that what waiting expectantly should be like, we look up. Not looking around waiting and wondering how and when things are going to work out, but looking up at the face of God and trusting in His character. He wants our hearts and will allow the times of waiting to draw us in and experience a love encounter with Him.

Prayer for Today:
Lord thank you for drawing us in even when we are looking around. May we see you today as we fix our gaze upon You. May we have a deep desire and burn to be in Your presence today. Thank You for Your unfailing love!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Angie Harper says:

    Thank you Erin! You are such an inspiration to all of us out here and your words always hit home. Keep em’ coming!

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 3 months ago
  2. * Angela says:

    I am not sure if you remember me or not, but I stumbled onto your blog many, many months ago. Since then you have been in my blog reader and I have lurked around, but enjoyed your writing and *seeing* God move in your life :o)

    This post was a blessing to me. My husband was laid off in Feb and has been out of work ever since. The Lord has provided for us. However, I have allowed busy-ness to shove my time with the Lord right off of my calendar which has brought me to worry and fear that I shouldn’t be living in.

    Thanks for the reminder to reset my priorities. :o)

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 3 months ago


Leave a Reply

