Living a Life of PRAISE



Unforgiveness

The the king called in the man he had forgiven and said, “You evil servant! I forgave you that tremendous debt because you pleaded with me. Shouldn’t you have mercy on your fellow servant, just as I had mercy on you?”
Matthew 18:32,33

Do you harbor unforgiveness or resentment towards someone or something? Sometimes the truth of this answer only comes out when we still our minds and hearts and allow God to search us. Sometimes the truth comes out as we catch ourselves getting heated when a certain person is mentioned. Sometimes the truth comes out when we can’t sleep because of the hatred that is lurking around in our mind and not allowing us to have peace. And sometimes we just know the truth. We don’t need signs or the voice of God to tell us, we’ll tell anyone who will listen and maybe even cover it up as a “prayer request.”

I love the “secret place” we have with God. It’s so romantic and full of intimacy. But we can’t have that sacred place if we’re venting and complaining to everyone except the One who has the answers. I also love having a friend I can trust. A friend who always speaks truths and is dependable. Shes there to help me sort out my emotions with biblical truths and practical steps to get where God wants me. When I find myself wrestling with God over an issue that is not leading to a breakthrough, I know its time to call her.

So heres the thing I realized this morning. Harboring unforgiveness towards someone (even if its justified) is selfish and a slap in the face of Jesus. Peter had this issue as well. In Matthew 18:21 he asked Jesus, “Lord, how often should I forgive someone who sins against me? Seven times?” “No!” Jesus replied,”seventy time seven!” What! Thats my initial response. You mean I’m just suppose to forgive and forgive and forgive? But I’m hurt and mad and want an apology!

But here is where Jesus in His gracious ways breaks it down for us. He tells the story of a king who is going to sell a man, his wife, and children because this man owes him money. The debtor falls down before the king pleading for his life. His exact words are “Oh sir, be patient with me…”. The king felt sorry for him and let him go, forgiven and free of debt. But the debtor was not changed. After he was realeased he went to a man who owed him money and demanded payment. This man pleaded as well saying “Be patient…”. However there was no patience given by the man who was just forgiven. He had him put in jail. The above scripture is the kings response when he finds out what happened.

Isn’t this us? We expect people to “be there” for us. We look for people for answers instead of God and when they don’t measure up we blame them and even worse talk about them to others. Satan is tricky with this because unforgiveness can be hidden and we may not even know its the root to our outbursts or unhealthy mindsets. The importance of a daily heart check is vital!

I challenge all of us to think about this the next time we are wanting justice. God has forgiven us through the death of His son. And He forgives us every time we mess up and if you’re like me you mess up a lot. We can never take His grace and love for granted. It should lead us to praise Him daily. When I stop and think of the patience God has had with me, how can I not have that same patience with others? But I can’t get to this place of pure love if I don’t stop and examine my heart. Then I have to walk in it, stand firm, and chose to rise above. The Word of God is the only hope in our hearts being exposed and changed.

The chapter ends with Jesus words: “That’s what my heavenly Father will do to you if you refuse to forgive your brothers and sisters in your heart.” In other words we will live in deadness and darkness and emptiness if we do not forgive. There will be a block between us and the One who created us. Think how that grieves Him! He is Our Maker and wants us to thrive and include Him in all things. When we sin and walk in unforgiveness we are not living out the gospel. The good news sets us free and gives us a light that will radiate and draw others near. Lets choose to be a light to such a dark world by letting go of past hurts that may have been meant to destroy us but because of Jesus, they can be used to free us!

Prayer for Today:
Thank You Jesus for Your love that is unfailing and unconditional and beyond comprehension. Forgive us for allowing things of this world to come in between us and You. Convict us quickly when our hearts become hard. Do whatever it takes to get us to stop and let You examine our heart. In that secret place may we fall in love with You all over again and be captivated by Your goodness. Use our lives to display Your faithfulness so others will want to know about You. Help us to stand out and never fit in. You have called us to be like shining stars so may all the impurities that cause us to be dim be exposed and may we be restored with Your Glorious Light! Praises to You Our Father and King!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Holly says:

    I hated someone for years and it wasn’t until I finally let it go and allowed God to restore what I had allowed to destroy a part of my heart that I experienced true release and relief from it:) This is another amazing blog that shows that your heart truly beats for Christ;) I love you Erin:) I miss you dang it!

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 7 months ago


Leave a Reply

