Living a Life of PRAISE



Just Sit

You have made known to me the path of life;
You will fill me with with joy of Your presence,
With eternal pleasures at Your right hand.
Psalm 16:11

Sometimes when the list of things to do is endless, I find the best thing to do is to just sit. There is nothing like being in the presence of the Lord where it is just you and Him. It is peaceful. My soul yearns to be in this place but often I put it on the back burner in order to feel “productive” in the day. The ironic thing is, if I have this alone time with God first, I am able to accomplish much more. And the best part is, I’m able to do it with a grateful heart and joyful attitude. I’m also more aware of God during my day. I take time to seek Him and be spirit led in what I am to do and who I am to be with. I’m open to receiving correction and quick to repent of sins that want to weasel their way in. I’m also less focused on me and more on others which means I look for ways to serve, find scripture and cling to it as I pray it for my friends and family, and I find more moments with my girls that can be teachable. When I’m grounded in Christ my mind is sharp and my heart is pure.

I believe if we are too busy for God then we are just too busy. We need to prioritize our day so we can be with Him. I love to get up early in the morning before everyone else is up and start the day in prayer, especially for this home and Matt and the girls. But some mornings I love to sleep in. If that’s the case I may have a 5 minute break in between getting dressed, breakfast for everyone, and the girls dressed as well. That 5 minutes I am on my knees in deep communion with God. Whatever it takes! There have even been times when the girls are playing and I lock myself in the bathroom just to have some alone time with God. It is impossible to get through the day victoriously without talking with Him consistently. It’s worth fighting for. Having an open bible in the kitchen was a great suggestion someone made to me after I had Abi and felt like I had no time whatsoever to be in His Word. This has since spread to having open bibles in many rooms so even if I’m walking by with arms full of laundry, one child wrapped on my leg and the other screaming, “Mom! Mom!”, I can look down and read words God has written to me. These words will renew a mind and bring life to a soul if we truly believe in them!

So today I want to challenge everyone to just sit. Bask in the presence of the Lord. Here are some scriptures that have renewed my spirit today:

In the morning, O Lord, you hear my voice:
In the morning I lay my requests before You
And wait in expectation.
Psalm 5:3

But may all who seek You
Rejoice and be glad in You;
May those who love Your salvation always say,
“Let God be exalted!”
Psalm 70:4

Blessed is the man who listens to me,
Watching daily at my doors,
Waiting at my doorway.
For whoever finds me finds life
And receives favor from the Lord.
Proverbs 8:34,35

Prayer for Today:
Lord You are so good to us. You love us so much that You want to spend time with us. I believe if we put our agenda aside and seek You with all that is in us, You will provide the one on one time. We must believe it and for those who don’t hunger for it, may they begin to. May we all see how alive we can be after being in Your presence. We praise You for the access we have to You. We don’t need to go to others to talk to You. You are with us always and ready to hear from us. May You refresh those who are tired and worn out, Give them new life, new passion, and a new excitement in knowing You. Meet us here in this moment. We praise You!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * hilary says:

    this is so true! i have found that, lately, my most special quiet time with Him is when i am in the car (with no child). i turn the radio off for once, and just talk to Him. ask Him to be with me as i meet with this person/go to this doctor/whatever. and you know what? i am ALWAYS so clear-headed and kind-hearted during these meetings/appointment/whatevers. and, they have all turned out to be successful/positive events when i talk with Him first! it’s amazing how much of a difference it can make when you just put your routine (listening to music) on hold, and put Him in the front seat. when i ask Him to be with me and i trust Him, He trusts me with wonderful things! He strengthens me and He focuses me and He loves me. i am so much closer to Him when i schedule quiet time into my day at the least expected times. thanks for the reminder!!!

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 8 months ago
  2. * randi :) says:

    awesome!! 🙂 I loved it Erin! 🙂 I agree with & practice everything you’ve written here. Even the open Bible & journal on kitchen table – I keep mine there & open during the day until nap time.

    It’s amazing how little “margin” people have in their lives huh? What are we so busy doing? Pastor Chris preached on that last week.

    I can’t believe what a driver I used to be – just always go go go go dawn to dusk. I had no idea how to sit and just “be”.

    Thank you God for changing me. For cleaning me out — for allowing me to find my value in YOU not activity. To find success & purpose in you, not in the world. To be okay with solitude. I am not longer scared of the quiet and what I might hear… but instead run to it. I understand His love & grace now… that is what changed.

    I’m blessed to call you friend Erin.

    Have a great day!!

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 8 months ago
  3. * 704hollyandrich says:

    I was listening to the song Be still by Kari Jobe yesterday;) its amazing…I love those silent prayers when I say nothing and my heart says everything:) love you girl~

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 8 months ago


Leave a Reply

