Living a Life of PRAISE



CHOOSING PEACE

He was oppressed and afflicted,
yet He did not open His mouth;
He was led like a lamb to
The slaughter,
and as sheep before her
shearers is SILENT,
so He did not open His mouth.
Isaiah 53:7

This passage silents me. Whenever my focus gets off of what really matters and onto small insignificant things, I read Isaiah 53. It takes me back to the cross. It saves me from continuing to live in my self absorbed world. When I start spiraling out of control, it starts with my mind. I take a thought and dwell on it until I am consumed by it. I want to bask in it to the point where I lash out at anyone who disrupts this precious time. How unprecious and destructive it really is!

Jesus’ character was out of this world. In Matthew 26:62 we see Him under attack yet incredibly steady and at peace. Jesus was arrested and brought before the high priest for his teachings that were causing an uproar with the “religious” crowd. There was no evidence except that of a false witness who misunderstood the truths Jesus was preaching. The high priest then stood up and said to Jesus, “Are you not going to answer? What is this testimony that these men are bringing against you?” But Jesus remained SILENT (Matt. 26:62, 63). The passage goes on to depict a humiliating picture of the priest tearing Jesus’ clothes, yelling at him, others spitting in His face, slapping Him, mocking Him, and punching Him. And He took it. He took it because He knew the truth. He believed whole heartily in His Father and in His ways.

So today I choose peace. I choose to respond as Jesus did-silent. As firey darts are being thrown in my direction, I choose to “take up my shield of faith” (Eph. 6:16). I choose to trust Gods judgment in how circumstances are played out in my life. It is for growth that needs to happen within and perhaps this is the only way.

Maybe you are where I am today-under fire so to say-or maybe you’re the one throwing the fire. As Jesus was being arrested do you know where His disciples were? Running. Abandoning Him. Here was an opportunity to stand up for what they knew was true and instead they ran because they were scared. And scared of men at that. Only God knows our motives and why we are engaging in conversations that we are and why we are entertaining the thoughts of others that we are. We will never be FREE until we get silent and let Him search our hearts (Psalm 139:23). It is in that place we can repent and then choose to walk in peace or we can ignore and have chaos and confusion and dissatisfaction lurk within us and eventually all around us.

Prayer for Today:
Lord You know the plans for our life and You know what we must endure in order for those plans to be fulfilled. You have suffered beyond what we ever will so that we know You relate to us in our troubles. I ask for Your act of selflessness to cover our selfishness. Lift up our heads to look upon You and exalt You. You have granted us access to Your kingdom and that is something we should praise You for daily. Help us fight for it and not allow anyone or anything distract us from Your calling. Your Word is our sword so may we know it well. Thank you for the peace we have only because of the suffering You endured to heal us all. Amen.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Donna Cathey says:

    Thank you, Erin. God used this to speak to me today. I feel as though I’m under attack right now in a certain situation and no one is stepping up to counter the attack or defend me to the aggressor. I was just rehersing what I might say to defend myself, but God, through this blog has put me in my place, which is to be SILENT and to let Him work out His plans for me in and through this difficult place. Sometimes it seems like silence is being passive and in the past, I’ve reacted to the attacks and regretted it. I need to dwell on the peace I have through Jesus Christ and not the torments of Satan.

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 8 months ago
  2. * randi :) says:

    wow Erin it’s amazing to me how in tune our hearts are each time I get to hear from you. I just finished writing a post on selfishness and this exact same thing basically.

    You are soo right – it’s a mind game. The Bible tells us we were enemies with God in our MINDS.

    It tells us though through Him we have the power to die to self. To be able to FINALLY take our eyes off ourselves. That when we give up trying to do by ourself and look to Him — THEN we will gain what we were searching for.

    HE and HE alone is the answer to ALL our needs of security, significance. Through HIS hope, purpose, love that ONLY He can answer.

    It IS all about training our minds to focus on HIM and HIS Word. If we could just take our eyes off ourselves —- then “those that LOOK TO HIM are radiant; their faces are never covered in shame” psalm 34:5

    He is so GOOD!! So loving. So full of grace. Praising Him with you!

    My grandma always used to say, “take care of your pennies and the dollars will take care of themselves”. I always thought she was talking about money. I realized she was teaching me a lesson I would cherish forever. She was such a godly woman. She was saying — take care of your minutes and your hours, your weeks your LIFE will take care of itself. learn to control the minutes! She recognized that where she spent her resources (time in thoughts & money) that is where her heart would go. So she trained herslef to FOCUS on GOD and His Word…. and her heart went to Him. She learned to be dependent on Him to be focused on Him. The enemy wants to distract us. and if He can’t distrct us…. He wants us to be in FEAR and shame and not run to God… yet God just says look at me. look at me. look at me. come back come back come back. I’m here I love you I’m ready, my arms are open.

    love ya! 🙂

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 8 months ago
  3. * Roben Carter says:

    I have been obsessing today and spent way to much time consumed by worries. That’s the second time I just happened to read your blog and happened to be in the same place you were when you wrote it. Last time I read it I had just fasted for the first time and then read your blog about that. I appreciate you taking the time and it’s too Cool how the Holy Spirit is at work!

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 8 months ago


Leave a Reply

