Living a Life of PRAISE



Real Friendship

I’ve been thinking a lot about my friendships lately. I’ve learned over the years how there are different seasons of friends. I have to hold them loosely just like anything else knowing God can and will give and take away. There are times I fight for a friendship then there are times I stay an arms length. I have to seek God on this just as much as I seek Him in my marriage, finances, parenting, and everything else I want to see Him in.

I have a friendship that has changed and possibly wrecked me forever. This friend speaks truth to me every time we talk. There is seldom a time we talk and I’m not convicted about something. She can tell if my words are just excuses and is not afraid to call me on it, always going back to the Word. She then checks up on what we’ve talked about making sure there is a follow through. When I ask for prayer I have no doubt she is spending time with God just for me and my situations. Most of the time she offers prayer right then and there. She knows me, inside and out. She knows my strengths and weaknesses and encourages me in both of these areas. I know I am loved by her. There are times I don’t want to talk to her because her words hurt as I’m learning truth does. If I really open myself up for accountability and I’m vulnerable, it will hurt. I will be upset and want to blame others for my sin. I will say others are wrong and I am right. But if I’m seeking God through prayer and going to the Word daily and writing out my thoughts, then the truth will be revealed to me. The next step: obedience. That’s where follow up has taught me immediate obedience. Talking to her its not a matter of how I’m going to be obedient its a matter of when. It’s simple and a no brainer when I talk to her. I can’t talk myself out of it with her voice in my head. She doesn’t offer sympathy, she offers truth.

I’ve always been someone who told everyone everything but I’ve seen maturity in that area because now there is only a select few I call when in crisis. I use to call someone, anyone, get off the phone and call the next person and the next. It was crazy! Talk about drama and emotionally draining. Now I ask God who I need to talk to and its always someone who tells me what I don’t want to hear. My flesh may want sympathy but my spirit needs truth. God’s Word exposes. How can I offer this type of friendship if I don’t know the Word? The only thing I’ll offer is feel good words or even worse worldly counsel.

I’ve been reading a lot on words and wisdom in Proverbs. I’m seeing these truths come to life in my own life by friends truly being friends. It’s a gift to have someone who challenges me, sees through me, and still loves me deeply. She cares more about my obedience to God then what I think of her. Her heart is so pure in wanting me to know and fall more and more in love with Jesus. I hope to be the kind of friend to others she is to me.

THE WISE ARE GLAD TO BE INSTRUCTED, BUT BABBLING FOOLS FALL FLAT ON THEIR FACES.
Proverbs 10:8

THE WORDS OF THE GODLY LEAD TO LIVE; EVIL PEOPLE COVER UP THEIR HARMFUL INTENTIONS.
Proverbs 10:11

WISE PEOPLE TREASURE KNOWLEDGE, BUT THE BABBLING OF A FOOL INVITES TROUBLE.
Proverbs 10:14

PEOPLE WHO ACCEPT CORRECTION ARE ON THE PATHWAY TO LIFE, BUT THOSE WHO IGNORE IT WILL LEAD OTHERS ASTRAY.
Proverbs 10:17

THE GODLY SPEAK WORDS THAT ARE HELPFUL, BUT THE WICKED SPEAK ONLY WHAT IS CORRUPT.
Proverbs 10:32

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Holly says:

    Hey Girl! I love blogs like this one, because it makes you look at those around you and how they either uplift you, push you, tear you down or motivate you to be all that you can be. God has indeed blessed me with friendships just like the one you are speaking of! I love truth even when I want to yell and say SHUT UP! but God is so amazing and uses those very words to mend our hearts, to prune the junk, and show us who we truly are underneath it all! Erin you are an amazing friend and I appreciate all that you do for others, and I know that this friend you told me about is sent from God Himself to push you to be the woman of God you are, and to see the POTENTIAL that is waiting to burst out of you! I love you sweet thang:) and hug her for me…because she ROCKS:)

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 10 months ago


Leave a Reply

