Living a Life of PRAISE



As one storage unit closes…

a home opens. Our storage unit was an exact representation of our life in Clarksville-everything was either in boxes, bags, or random buckets we could fill. In other words-very unorganized and disordered. It was obvious we were ready to get the heck out of dodge when we left to move here. It’s been a three day crazy process of moving from storage into our new home. There have been many obstacles from moving in the dark using cell phones as lights because there was no power, me locking us out, the girls in the car for hours as we went from storage to the house a few times (thank God for bubblegum and dvd players in the car), Kaylee having to pee at the storage place where there is no bathroom so she goes on the pavement and wets all over herself (she rode back to the house naked-quite a site), and getting it all done before Matt goes to work but there were many many laughs and thats what counts. We realized everything we do comes with unexpected situations-God likes to keep us flexible.

I’ve actually been thinking about this a lot lately-how order honors God but at the same time He will break us if it (order) rules our emotion and being. About 3 years ago I use to be queen over “change freak outs”. My small group knew if there was change on the horizon for me then they better be in prayer and ready to hear an ear full at small group. I now look at how our life over the past couple of years has been nothing but change and I can now say It’s Awesome! Hard-yes! Stressful-yes! But it has made us so dependent on God because when He switches up our schedules or plans we can either whine and complain or just go with it, trusting He has our good (more like His good) in mind. There are always blessings that come from that place. If anything, it makes me fall more in love with Him because I see Him more clearly. Its true-when God is all you have thats when you realize He’s all you need. When everything around me is changing I know He is the one thing that won’t. I have to rely on Him then. I’m also reminded of the many prayers I have prayed-God I want to be able to accept change (Proverbs 8:8,9), God I want to be solid (James 1:2-4), God I will go wherever you send me (Isaiah 6:8), God may just You be enough for me (Psalm 63), God teach me how to be like You (Col.3:12-17). And here we are-definitely in the midst of all those prayers being answered!

It is only God’s grace that has sustained me through this because situations around me are out of control. Things have come into our life these past few weeks that we did not see coming. I see many purposes in why we’re back and why we didn’t have a home for a while. It feels good to want to live “loosely”. That does not sound right but what I’m getting at is there is freedom in not being comfortable and so set in my ways that I won’t drop my agenda for what God wants. He tests me with this daily when I put the girls down for a nap and they may wake up early or Abi who is still hit and miss through the night. For so long I was like-she’s almost 1! Why is she still doing this? But then I’m reminded not to make a “routine” my God. I know I am doing this if I fall apart and my attitude gets bad just because things don’t go as I planned. If I’m in a good place when this happens, I treasure the moments with her in bed with me or take them outside to run around and play “princesses.” I’m also tested with this in planning my day. It never goes as planned, well rarely! What if God allows these unexpected phone calls or to dos (or not to dos) or disappointments or mistakes, all to see how I will respond? With compassion or anger? With a negative tone or positive attitude? With a servants heart or a dirty selfish one? With peace or with a freak out?

Something I love about walking with God is I will never have it figured out, all put together, or always know the right thing to do or say, but I’m learning and growing and thats the cool thing. Others growth helps me and my growth helps them. We’re all in this together and thats a nice place to rest. I don’t know whats around the corner for us but I am excited as God continues to loosen me up saying, “Take my hand and walk with Me. Let go of everything else and just hold on to Me.”

THE LORD GAVE ANOTHER MESSAGE TO JEREMIAH. HE SAID, “THIS IS WHAT THE LORD, THE GOD OF ISRAEL, SAYS: WRITE DOWN FOR THE RECORD EVERYTHING I HAVE SAID TO YOU, JEREMIAH. FOR THE TIME IS COMING WHEN I WILL RESTORE THE FORTUNES OF MY PEOPLE OF ISRAEL AND JUDAH. I WILL BRING THEM HOME TO THIS LAND THAT I GAVE TO THEIR ANCESTORS, AND THEY WILL POSSESS IT AND LIVE HERE AGAIN. I, THE LORD, HAVE SPOKEN!”
Jeremiah 30:1-3

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Shane says:

    You have been awarded! Thank you for your blog! http://www.heartreflections.wordpress.com

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 2 months ago
  2. * Heidi says:

    I found you through Shane at HR. Your post today really struck a chord because we constantly experience change and this past year has been particularly difficult. So MANY changes. But you are right…God teaches us so much and He has shown me personally different attributes about Him that I knew about before, but never really KNEW. Great post.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 2 months ago


Leave a Reply

