Living a Life of PRAISE



Today I saw God

Before we dropped Matt off at work this morning he prayed, “God we desire to see you today.” With no expectations, just opened eyes, I was ready to start the day. In a matter of moments the fussing and crying and whining and “I don’t want to” starts from the back seat. My mind goes from being in an above place to being in a below place. Matt and I agreed that today was the day we were going to be really strict with Kaylee. I don’t know if any of you other moms go through this but we have great days maybe even weeks and then slowly the defiance enters the picture. Its subtle at first and then turns into out right craziness. We know then, its time to get serious. We explained the rules to Kaylee last night before she went to bed of what will constitute a time out or spanking. Needless to say, it did not take long for our talk to be forgotten.

As I’m holding Abi and walking Kaylee into the gym, Kaylee is screaming and crying. I don’t even remember why. Probably because I didn’t give her gum or I had to fix her hair or I didn’t get her out of the car before Abi. Either way, I was getting them in the door because all I could think about was running and listening to music and having time to hear from God. I am very grateful for these breaks.

As I was running every song was speaking truth into my life. I felt like I was running from the enemy and into the arms of God. I was picturing pride and jealousy and stubborness falling off of me. I desire a pure heart and there are times I’m right there with God and then it takes one of life’s circumstances to throw me off track. Then my heart becomes cloudy and even ugly because I start to live in envy or fear versus gratitude or the truth of how much My Jesus loves me.

So I took my eyes off of everything around me that consumes and weighs down and I looked up. Up to heaven where there is hope and lightness and mercy. I was in the presence of God and nothing else mattered. I love those moments when I lose myself in Jesus. All that exists in my mind at that time is His goodness and faithfulness. He reminds me of His provision. He gets me excited about what lies around the corner so instead of being fearful, I anxiously await meeting Him there. In those moments my mind is clear and I see His working in my life through my situations-its all to be brought closer to Him. To be more dependent on Him. This makes my heart burst and over flow. It leads me to pray intensely for my girls to know the love of God like this. It’s the only place I can ever find rest. When life is out of control and everyone needs me, I can hold on to the promises of God. They never change. The bible has become my everything lately and I’m curious as to how I’ve made it this long without soaking myself in it.

Okay, back to the title of this blog. After the gym I was running errands when Kaylee from the back seat says, “Hey mommy, do you member (remember) that man?” I instantly knew what she was talking about and I instantly knew God was speaking to me through her. A few weeks ago we saw a homeless man. We had just gone to the grocery store so I decided to put some of our groceries in a bag and give to this man. Now this was not an instant thought. I actually passed one earlier down the road and thought to myself-one day when I have time I’ll stop and do something for him. By the time I saw the second one God had my attention and said, “Do it now! It will never be the perfect timing!” So as I pulled over to do this I talked to Kaylee about serving others and showing them God’s love. I even apologized to her for complaining when we don’t have certain things. We talked about how blessed we were with food and shelter and how some people don’t even have families. As I drove back by, the man was walking into the woods. I turned around just in time after praying-God I know he is suppose to have this and I will chase him into the woods if I have to! But I’d rather not. Light turned green and with no one behind me I called for him. He ran up to the car and I told him, “God will always provide for you.” I drove away crying. Tears of a broken heart for this man and tears of how selfish I can be. Kaylee then said, “Mommy we gave him food to make him happy and hes going to feed his family.” Now the tears really started flowing. This was a special day I would never forget and as I drove off I thanked God and prayed for more opportunities to this world the love He offers.

So the fact Kaylee brought this up today was an encounter with God. My heart was full as she remembered. The experience reminded me of how great God is. It also reminded me to get and stay out of myself-to live every day with open eyes of how I can show God’s love to people by serving them. It reminded me to be ready at any point to do or say something for Jesus. Everyday there are opportunities to show people the love of Christ and what I realize is they will rarely come at expected moments-it will be unexpected moments and I am called to be ready. As I looked in the back seat at Kaylee I thought to myself how cool is this that I get to teach a little one about the love of God and she teaches me as well. I am blessed.

Blessed are the pure in heart, for they will see God.
Matthew 5:8

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Shane says:

    Wow! Thank you for sharing. It wasn’t done in pride or arrogance, just in pure love and obedience. Well done good and faithful servant.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 3 months ago
  2. * Patti, Janesville WI says:

    Powerful. Thank you.

    p.s. In the school I work at, we are reading “Love and Logic”. It’s a really good book about teaching kids to “own” their own behavior. They do make a version for parents. The church you and your hubby played at a couple years ago taught it as a class. Maybe your local library has it???

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 2 months ago
  3. * 704hollyandrich says:

    I can just see Kaylee’s sweet little face! I think when those moments happen, time stops for us. I am asked constantly in the car questions, and do this and whats this but when your child brings a question like this we are able to stop and take the time to share Christ and encounter our sweet Saviour! You allowed Kaylee to to get a glimpse of JESUS:) I love ya girl!

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 2 months ago


Leave a Reply

