Living a Life of PRAISE



Always waiting & always learning

So often I want to take matters into my own hands. I get tired of waiting for results or answers. I know there are always ways to manipulate to get what I want. I’m reading a book right now called The Uncommon Woman. Something I read yesterday has stuck with me and encouraged me greatly when I want to be right or justified. Hopefully it will help you too.

In Luke 22:47 we find Jesus approached by the men who are going to take Him to the cross. Heading up this group is Judas, Jesus trusted friend. Jesus had just washed his feet knowing this friend was about to betray him in the most painful way. I don’t know if I could be so loving. As Judas got closer to Jesus he even greeted him with a kiss-talk about some serious betrayal! The disciples immediately got heated and asked Jesus, “Should we fight? We brought the swords!”. Before Jesus could even respond one of the disciples cut off the ear of the high priest’s servant. But this is where we find the character we are to portray as believers-Jesus said, “No more of this!”. In other words-Enough!! He then healed his ear! Here is Jesus about to be taken away for the very purpose He came to earth for and is still offering love to those who are about to torture Him beyond our comprehension.

HE DIDN’T RETALIATE OR TAKE MATTERS INTO HIS OWN HANDS BECAUSE HE TRUSTED HIS FATHER. He was so focused on His purpose here and fulfilling it, nothing else mattered. He knew God would take care of those who hurt Him. “I will take vengeance; I will repay those who deserve it,” says the Lord (Romans 12:19).

To have that faith would be amazing! There are SO many hurting people around us right now and I want to fix it, I want to make phone calls and tell people what I really think, I want to stop the hurting but I can’t. I can only intervene with prayer and believe God’s promises are true (Numbers 23:19). I’m watching Matt right now struggle and even though it hurts to see him broken, it is beautiful. He cried on stage last night while leading worship for the college ministry. Seeing this type of realness and authenticity touches the core of who I am. It’s what I desire all of us to be-honest. It’s freeing to not wear the mask that everything is okay. To admit being scared or nervous or hopeless is a wonderful place because its then we are able to fall into the arms of The One who speaks truth into our lives and builds us back up.

A friend pointed out to me the blessing of being married to someone that seeks God and waits on Him and doesn’t take matters into his own hands. She said her husband is taking a job right now just for the money and its putting him in a bad environment that is not only bad for him but for their marriage too. As I see Matt wanting to provide for us and waiting for this possible job to come through I see a man that is more concerned with what God wants then what he wants. That is beautiful and I don’t thank God enough for a husband like that. It’s because of him I’m writing today and having a break at the coffee shop. He said I need to have a break and go write. I have a new rule to not blog while my girls are up so that doesn’t leave much time to do this even though my mind is always writing a blog.

So as I sit here and thank God for my hubs I think its time to go home and let him know I believe in him. I want to see everything he does be successful (Deuteronomy 30:9 and Joshua 1:7). I want him to be so built up at home that when he leaves, he feels like he can conquer the world and when he returns we’re ready to celebrate his victories!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * holly says:

    41 is coming……………….you are loved:)

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 11 months ago


Leave a Reply

