Living a Life of PRAISE



Immediate Obedience

This was the title to my bible study the other day. It went into the story of Abraham (Genesis 22:2-3, Hebrews 11:8). He immediately obeyed God when he was told to leave his homeland with no details of where he was to go. Abraham placed all his hope in everything the Lord said. GOD’S WORDS WERE HIS SECURITY. Thats all Abraham had to go on and it was enough for him to follow. How often do I want my security to be in what I can see or achieve or gain? My flesh wants to be comfortable and feel safe. This is NOT what God desires. Following Him into the unknown is uncomfortable and dangerous. My spirit desires this more than anything-to be obedient. “I’ll go anywhere, I’ll do anything, at any cost for You, My King”-these are the words from a song titled “Burn For You” that rings in my mind when my soul just wants to praise and follow hard after God. But then comes the challenge… putting it to the test…

So after doing this study I prayed for God to show me where I could be immediately obedient that day. An hour later I was facing a financial decision that had it not been for a friend who is always honest with me, I would have missed the opportunity to put in to practice what I had prayed for. We were leaving town the next day to attend a wedding but the problem was, we didn’t have the funds for gas or hotel. When I thought about this emotionally, of course I couldn’t miss this wedding-it was my best friend in college and she was my maid of honor-I have to be there! I thought to myself-I can make this happen, I mean where there’s a will there’s a way, right? But God’s voice was louder then my excuses. He said, “Erin, at some point you have to start saying no.” You mean I have to sacrifice? Who would have thought of that concept? I got the point. Here was my time, my moment to be immediately obedient but what would Matt say and how would my friend react? Matt was on board and when I called my friend her first response was, “I would rather you be obedient then come here and be disobedient.” And to think I was worried that God was going to have me do something and not take care of the details concerning the matter! My friend and I had a great conversation and as I prayed for her and her special day, I felt like I was going to be there anyway. It was a beautiful moment with her, like the blessing or reward to being obedient.

So what would it look like to live each day like this? Not waiting, but looking and even longing for opportunities to show my Savior, my first love, how much I really do love Him?

THE SOVEREIGN LORD HAS SPOKEN TO ME, AND I HAVE LISTENED. I DO NOT REBEL OR TURN AWAY… THEREFORE, I HAVE SET MY FACE LIKE A STONE, DETERMINED TO DO HIS WILL. AND I KNOW THAT I WILL TRIUMPH.
Isaiah 50:5,7

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * holly says:

    Hello dear, it is driving me bonkers that we are playing phone tag! I miss you and I miss your constant encouragement and realness. But when I need it the most I pull up your blog and it gives it to me! I am so glad that you have people around you there to show you and walk along side you as you and Matt face new struggles, and over come new stuff. I was at the Beach this past weekend,and thought of you guys! I want you to come visit soon! BEFORE SEPT! I will email you tonight or 2morrow to fill you in on all that is going on. Send me some Kaylee/abi pix! Go to our focus.chapelgrove website and take a look at all the pictures from M-fuge! I love you girly bf from Gastonia;)Holly< Ephesians 3:20

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 12 months ago
  2. * amandalittlefield says:

    The verse at the end of this one has gotten me through this week:)thank you!

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 11 months ago


Leave a Reply

