Living a Life of PRAISE



Careful what you pray for…

Before we left Clarksville to move back to Wilmington I began to pray for something to open up that would allow me to help out financially for my family. I was thinking along the lines of watching another child but God had something totally different in mind.

The other day we were at Matts dads visiting. He lives with his mom (Matts grandma) who was in need of someone coming once a week to clean her house and twice a week to give her a bath. My first thought was: I hope she can find someone quick because shes going to need to be bathed. And then God spoke to me saying, “Its you.” And I said, “What? I don’t want to do this. This is NOT what I meant when I prayed for some work.” But no sooner did those thoughts come through my mind and I felt the tenderness of God at work in my heart, softening it, no melting it. And out of my mouth I said, “Nana I would love to help you however I can.” The words were real and heartfelt. You would have thought I wrote her a check for a million dollars. She was so grateful. She offered to pay me a generous amount but since she is someone we owe money to, we decided to have her take it off our debt each month. That was just an added blessing to seeing God answer a prayer.

So today was the day. The day of bathing Nana. A friend of mine prayed for me before I went in and in her prayer she mentioned Jesus washing the disciples feet. That has always been a powerful picture to me because the thought of washing someones feet grosses me out. And I admit it, I’m a selfish person. I’ve never understood how people are so selfless in caretaking roles. My mom is in that role right now with her dad and she does a great job at it. She puts him above herself and just loves on him. I watch her and want to be like that but then my own agenda comes into the picture and I think I have other or better things to do. Today I saw how prideful that thinking really is because when I left nanas house I was in tears. It was the most humbling yet beautiful and rewarding thing I have ever done. I can’t explain the emotion behind it but I’m praising God for this being how He answered my prayer.

The best part was when she looked at me and said, “When you told me you would do this I knew God was providing for me.” My soul rejoiced as I praised God for using me to reveal Himself to her.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * ashley dengler says:

    oh dang, i’m crying. that is both a precious and a definite hallelujah moment. welcome home, honey 😉

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 5 months ago
  2. This is beautiful. Caretaking someone can be stressful and yet it is wonderfully appreciated. elaine

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 5 months ago
  3. * cdenning says:

    great stuff erin. Pride has a curiously strong hand when it comes to most people, definitely including me. But when we have these great opportunities to stare it in the eyes and allow Christ to take away it’s power, it becomes curiously quiet. It’s truly a beautiful thing. Great Blog Erin, I’m pop you on my Blogroll.

    cd

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 5 months ago


Leave a Reply

