Living a Life of PRAISE



Renewing of the mind

Today life began to pile up. You know when your mind begins to spin out of control and you feel paralyzed as to how anything is going to work out? Well that was me for a little while this morning. BUT THEN I remembered what I had just studied in the bible yesterday. I was reading Psalm 78:40-43 which talks about how the Israelites “rebelled against God” and “grieved His heart” while in the wilderness. They “tested God’s patience” and frustrated Him. They FORGOT about the miracles He had performed. This begin to sink in as I found myself doing the same thing they did. It was leading me to become doubtful and faithless.

So whats the alternative? What do I do once I realize my thoughts are not doing any good for me or the situation? I can keep on, knowing my thoughts dictate my actions which then affects everyone around me OR I can choose a different mindset as David did in Psalm 63:1-7. He too was in the wilderness but SEARCHED FOR GOD (“O God, you are my God; I earnestly search for you”). He REMEMBERS GODS FAITHFULNESS (“I have seen you in your sanctuary and gazed upon your power and glory”). He PRAISES GOD (“You satisfy me more than the richest of foods. I will praise you with songs of joy”). He MEDITATES ON GOD (“I lie awake thinking of you, meditating on you through the night”).

As my mindset changed, so did my heart. I was free from the worries and burdens that began to weigh me down. I placed my hope in God and was able to move forward in faith versus being paralyzed by fear.

Leave a Reply

