Living a Life of PRAISE



Welcome Home

Today we returned to Clarksville. About 45 minutes from home Kaylee throws up in the car. I won’t be graphic but lets just say it wasn’t all in one place. We enter our house to find the water has been turned off because of a leak in the service line. To top that off we put on the heat since its going to be in the 40’s tonight (man how I already miss the 80’s) and the fan to our heater is rattling because its about to fall off. Yep, we’re back in Clarksville!

My time in the Word this morning kept coming to mind as I wanted to fall into negativity. I bought a little bible study to have some structure to my quiet times. I highly recommend this to anyone who is feeling dry and needs some guidance in digging in. The study I bought is on joy because I’ve noticed what a bad attitude I can have. It’s like a switch gets flipped and out comes this monster. I can have the best reasons in the world for why I’m being such a selfish brat but they’re all excuses and I’m tired of trying to justify myself. “Joy” seemed to be what I need more of.

This morning I opened up to “Get a Grip on Griping”. It said, “Do you ever just want to throw back your head and bellow-Gimmie a break?”…”Life has a way of mounting up until we are slumping down. Soon our joyful noises turn into grumpy groans.” This past month for us has been AMAZING! I can’t express how different Matt and I have felt in Wilmington. I have seen him come to life by being around his friends and talking about what God is doing in their life. He has been encouraged and challenged. He has written more songs this past month then this past six months. Everyday we were living life and having productive days. The sun was definintely shining on us. To see Kaylee playing with all of her little friends brought me so much joy. I have a new appreciation for our friendships there as well as hers. Its sweet to hear her talk about wanting to see Adah or Stella or Maddie or Nate. Even though she calls everyone Stella.

The study was in Numbers 11:1-20. The Israelites were on their way to the Promise Land and had one adventure after another. They began complaining once again about their hardships (I can already relate). This time they were upset because they were tired of the mana-bread from heaven-and wanted meat. They thought they would be better off in Egypt, where they just came from and endured plague after plague. The bible says they said, “Oh, for some meat!” And what humors me is after more whining and complaining Moses speaks to the people on the Lords behalf saying, “Now the Lord will give you meat, and you will have to eat it. And it won’t be for just a day or two… You will eat it for a whole month until you gag and are sick of it…”. I think its safe to say the Lord is ticked. Hes over it and has had enough.

How often do I nag Matt about petty things when I need to build him up with my words and thank God daily for a husband that loves Him, me, and our children. How often do I whine about all the things in my life that are not how I want them to be? How often do I complain when people don’t see things how I do or when I don’t get my way? So with everything piling up as soon as we walked in the door here, I remembered this story and clung to God’s anger because of people not being appreciative. We have everything we need for today and thats enough, it has to be. If we haven’t at least learned that this past year then somethings wrong. This study challenged me to start the day by writing something I’m thankful for and ending the day with something I’m thankful for. This morning I was thankful for being a mom who can teach my children about the love of Jesus. Lately Kaylee has been apologizing for her bad attitude or tantrums and often I have to apologize for mine too. We pray together and she sees that even mommy messes up. I’m also thankful that even though we were in the car traveling for Mothers Day we were together as a family. Tonight I’m thankful for God moving us back to Wilmington and I anticipate seeing Him work out all the details to get us there. I’m also thankful I don’t have to clean and get everything done on my “to do” list in one day!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * holly says:

    I gave my self a visual of you guys returning and all the above happening! It made me laugh! I love you and am praying for you! FOR YOUR RETURN TO YOUR REAL HOME:)

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 6 months ago


Leave a Reply

