Living a Life of PRAISE



Moments

SO I’m on to a new book and it is the best one I have read since The Barbarian Way. As a matter of fact its the same author, Erwin McManus. Its called Chasing Daylight. Its like a follow up to The Barbarian Way. The Barbarian Way led us to take the step of faith to move out here with no security in sight and I have a strong feeling Chasing Daylight is about to move us yet into another realm. I’m ready. I’ve been bored and I need an adventure. Its time for us to do something. We don’t know what that “something” is but we know its coming.

This book starts off talking about the moments and how we are to seize every moment. So often I’m waiting for the BIG moment and I miss all the little ones. The other night we went on a family walk and as we’re turing the corner Kaylee runs to sit in a patch of weeds-or flowers to her. She is so excited as she says, “Mommy come sit down with me and pick flowers for the princesses.” I thought oh isn’t that cute but then hurried her up because it was getting cold and we were ready to get home. I missed a moment. A precious moment. Who cares if its getting cold. That was a moment I could have shared with Kaylee being in our own little world. I want her to explore and use her imagination and be free to what moves her. There is so much more in a moment then just the moment-theres eternal significance, the possibilities of seeing a miracle unfold, the moments to come because of this moment we’re in, and seeing everything change in the blink of the eye. Since reading this book I have thought twice about saying, “I’ll do it later” and just stop what I’m doing to have special moments with my family. Its not realistic to play all day long because there are things that need to get done around here but I’m being more open to what can wait and what can’t.

THE SCRIPTURES ARE FULL OF STORIES OF PEOPLE WHO WERE RUDELY INTERRUPTED BY GOD. WE READ THEM AND LONG TO HAVE THAT KIND OF ADVENTURE EXPERIENCED BY THOSE MEN AND WOMEN. YET WHEN GOD INTERRUPTS US, ARE WE WILLING TO RESPOND ON A MOMENT’S NOTICE?
-Erwin McManus

Something in my soul has been stirring for a while now. I want to live passionately and pursue God with a reckless abandon. I don’t want to just coast or play it safe. I believe when God calls us to follow Him, it is to be an adventure. One that will consist of many unknowns and uncertainties. It will be a mystery and dangerous and yes, suffering will definitely be a part of it. But who didn’t suffer that followed God in the bible? The other option is to live in the fear of life with no significance or purpose. To always wonder-is there something more? Is there something else to my existence? Sadly, even believers often feel this way. Its too “radical” to think God would call us to do something that doesn’t make sense or steps me into too many unknowns. Matt always says When others say, “I feel like God wants me to do this but its crazy or doesn’t make sense” then you’re getting closer to God’s will.

I recently heard of someone who has fallen deeply into sin after following God for many years. She said she just got bored. I wonder what step God was leading her to take that may have been too scary so she just settled to stay where she was and when boredom hit, she chose something else to liven up her life. John 10:10 says God came to give us life abundantly!

I love stories in the bible like Abraham who had no idea where he was going but he knew who was leading. That is seizing the moments and living an untamed faith. It was all he had. This quote from Chasing Daylight has stuck with me:

EVEN THE SUBTLE SHIFT FROM RECEIVING JESUS TO FOLLOWING JESUS IS SIGNIFICANT. THE FIRST ALLOWS US TO REMAIN STATIONARY AS GOD COMES TO US; THE SECOND DEMANDS OUR MOVING WITH GOD. WHEN JESUS WALKED THIS EARTH, HIS DISCIPLES HAD TO KEEP UP WITH HIM. IF THEY WERE TO STAY CLOSE, THEY HAD TO CHOOSE TO LEAVE THE LIFE THEY LIVED WITHOUT HIM AND GO WHEREVER HE WOULD GO.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * mackenziefoust says:

    thanks for the hope i needed today

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 3 months ago


Leave a Reply

