Living a Life of PRAISE



The Sun Will Come Out

Yesterday was a pretty crappy day. I had one of my breakdowns of-God what are you doing in our life?! The day was one thing after another of life not going as we planned. To top it off the weather was terrible with rains and strong winds. As I sat here on the couch crying I realized I have NO CONTROL over my life. Yes, there is free will and if I wanted, theres be a lot I could change BUT if I want what God wants then I have to accept this is His plan for our life and just go with it. My suffering comes from “suffering for Christ” but if I was to take matter in my own hands the suffering would be harder to bear because it would be outside of His will. Matt always leads me during these times by saying, “I know we are doing everything God wants us to do”. When we feel like we’re just getting dumped on, those are the days we revaluate and if there’s nothing we can do, then rest in knowing we’re doing all we can do.

My devotional yesterday from My Upmost for His Highest was exactly what I needed. I’ve had this devotional for years but this is the first year I read it daily because it always speaks profoundly and perfectly to my life circumstances.

“HE WENT OUT, NOT KNOWING WHERE HE WAS GOING” (Hebrews 11:8)

LIVING A LIFE OF FAITH MEANS NEVER KNOWING WHERE YOU ARE BEING LED. BUT IT DOES MEAN LOVING AND KNOWING THE ONE WHO IS LEADING. IT IS LITERALLY A LIFE OF FAITH, NOT OF UNDERSTANDING AND REASON-A LIFE OF KNOWING HIM WHO CALLS US TO GO…

A LIFE OF FAITH IS NOT A LIFE OF ONE GLORIOUS MOUNTAINTOP EXPERIENCE AFTER ANOTHER, LIKE SOARING ON EAGLES’ WINGS, BUT IS A LIFE OF DAY-IN AND DAY-OUT CONSISTENCY; A LIFE OF WALKING WITHOUT FAINTING (Isaiah 40:31)…

IT IS A FAITH THAT HAS BEEN TRIED AND PROVED AND HAS WITHSTOOD THE TEST. ABRAHAM IS NOT A TYPE OR EXAMPLE OF THE HOLINESS OF SANCTIFICATION, BUT A TYPE OF THE LIFE OF FAITH-A FAITH, TESTED AND TRUE, BUILT ON THE TRUE GOD. “ABRAHAM BELIEVED GOD…” (Romans 4:3)

Ah, I can exhale when I read things like this in the midst of wanting to know and understand it all. As I laid down to take a nap with Abi, our room was dark because of it being so nasty outside. All of the sudden the sun came beaming in through the windows which lit up our room. God spoke softly to my heart saying, “the sun will come out.” I fell asleep peacefully.

The day did turn around as someone came to look at our house (this is the first person to look at it) and Matt began to write a beautiful song after being given the inspiration for it through a conversation with someone. This song is going to greatly encourage girls and women who have been picked on because of their outer appearance or who even go to drastic measures to portray a “perfect” image based on magazine photos or other worldly things. The best part is the chorus has to do with first the love of a dad and then the love of God. Someone told him-you have 2 girls so you should be able to draw from that. It made me cry as he played it for me the first time and the passion he has to always let our girls know how beautiful they are. What a difference it makes to have a dad that says “…when I see you my heart just sings…”. Matts going to be speaking at The Beauty Within Seminar in Gastonia, NC which is what I spoke at last year. My friend who is heading it up wants Matt to speak from a guys point of view so this is going to be really powerful. Maybe this song will be sung at it. Pray for the words to keep coming to him.

So what started off as one of those days I just wanted to be over, ended in a day of rejoicing of what God is doing.

Leave a Reply

