Living a Life of PRAISE


« doing better | Home | »

True joy

DON’T BE AFRAID TO BLAZE YOUR OWN TRAIL WHEN NECESSARY KNOWING THAT YOU ARE VERY LIKELY PAVING THE WAY FOR THE SUCCESS OF OTHERS BEHIND YOU.
-TD Jakes

This quote has stuck with me as I think upon the word BLAZE. What a cool word. Immediately I think of a fire ball that comes rolling through igniting everything in its path. I desire to be like that. I desire for others to be impacted by my fire-my love for Jesus.

I’m learning more and more this life of following God is not what others are going to agree with. People will always look inside our life and think they know whats best or they know the answers to get us away from “suffering.” However, the most amazing lesson in all of this is what we’re learning about suffering and how God doesn’t save us from a life of suffering. He saves us from a life of meaninglessness. We’re learning when God gives birth to a passion or dream, others will not always be on board with that and its okay because He didn’t birth it in them.

There are days when I wish my family and I were missionaries in another part of the world. Our days could be lived out simply and serving God would be why we’re there. So then my question is-if missionaries can live like this, then why can’t we? Because we’re in America where you’re suppose to have insurance and comfort and new clothes for new outings and a stable income? And don’t forget the pressure to appear a certain way-both inside and out. In the book I’m reading by TD Jakes (Reposition Yourself), he talks about this very thing. He gives an account of being in Kenya and a woman who had built her house out of cow dung and her floors were dirt and her bed was made from the hide of a cow. She appeared to “bear the signs of living unprotected in a climate where harsh sunshine toughens the skin”. The picture painted of her is that she has nothing and to top it off is not attractive. HOWEVER, she had an inner peace and bragged about God’s ability to provide. The book says, “She smiled brightly-revealing teeth that clearly had never been touched by a dentist-as she acknowledged how much prosperity she enjoyed”. I love that as I picture this woman. How I would love to be in her presence and soak up everything she has to offer. Those are the people who get it. It has nothing to do with stuff and everything to do with how great God is. TD Jakes who is now very financially set but at one point didn’t know how he was going to feed his family, and was on WIC, and even had his power cut off, said, “Did this woman have RICHES that no accountant can measure that comforted her in a way that I knew nothing about?”

Something else that stuck with me out of this chapter was the joy people in Kenya had when it rained. He said they clapped and danced and smiled. They were grateful for what we consider an inconvenience a lot of times. So the question is-is Gods grace enough? The fact we’ve been saved from hell-is that enough? Or do we want more in order to be filled? To be complete or whole? Joy is found in suffering and sometimes we need to go without and suffer in order to experience true joy.

Joy came to us when Matt was in Virginia this past weekend. On Sunday I was convicted I had not prayed for him as much as I should have so I prayed the message he would be giving would be authentic and exactly what this church needed to hear. Within minutes he called saying the first service went great. He said a woman came up to him and said, “My husband and I have been desiring something authentic. We have been waiting for a message like this.” As if that wasn’t cool enough she then handed him a check for $2,000! Now this came the day after Matt turned down a church job in town and as we continue to stick to The Total Money Makeover with our budget and getting out of debt. I love this because it shows how personal and real God is by me praying for “authenticity” and that being the exact word this lady used. Her blessing plus what Matt made from merch and what he was paid to sing/speak allowed us to have all bills paid for this month, tons of groceries, and the opportunity to bless others. Matt walked in the door with bags and bags of food from the grocery store and all I could do was praise God as I put everything away. He once again blew us away with His provision and affirmation. The fact that He doesn’t have to but does leads me to a deep and sincere place of joy and appreciation and worship.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Lindsay says:

    So good: “He saves us from a life of meaninglessness.”

    Tell it, friend! As usual, thank you for the encouragement and inspiration. Thank you for sharing your words.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 5 months ago
  2. * Holly says:

    OMGOOOODNESS! I sit here in tears, because of the work that God continues to do in the lives of the Blairs! I am literally SPEECHLESS…(that doesn’t come often lol)
    1 Peter 5:10-12
    10And the God of all grace, who called you to his eternal glory in Christ, after you have suffered a little while, will himself restore you and make you strong, firm and steadfast. 11To him be the power for ever and ever. Amen.

    Philippians 4 (the Message)
    10-14I’m glad in God, far happier than you would ever guess—happy that you’re again showing such strong concern for me. Not that you ever quit praying and thinking about me. You just had no chance to show it. Actually, I don’t have a sense of needing anything personally. I’ve learned by now to be quite content whatever my circumstances. I’m just as happy with little as with much, with much as with little. I’ve found the recipe for being happy whether full or hungry, hands full or hands empty. Whatever I have, wherever I am, I can make it through anything in the One who makes me who I am. I don’t mean that your help didn’t mean a lot to me—it did. It was a beautiful thing that you came alongside me in my troubles.

    Once WE embrace God for being GOD, something starts to happen in us! I love you Erin and Matt Blair!!!!

    Call me soon:) love ya sweets!

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 5 months ago


Leave a Reply

