Living a Life of PRAISE



Let me clarify

So most of you know by now I am a real, honest, and transparent person. There isn’t much that goes on in my life that I’m not open about. I talk about these things because it brings healing and freedom to my life. I don’t have to spend time or waste time pretending or “playing the part.” I am who I am and it comes out as I blog. Derek Webb said, “The best thing that could ever happen to us as Christians is that all of our sins would be shown on the 5:00 news so we wouldn’t have to hide anymore.” If you don’t understand this then I challenge you to be in tune with how often you hide whats really going on inside all because you’re scared of what others may think or you just may be “found out”. Its really draining and can suck the joy out of life.

Our life-as crazy as it is-is unfolding before any and everyone who reads this. Many people think thats the most insane thing to do but to us, its the right thing to do. I can’t tell you how many emails I receive from people who needed the encouragement from the struggles we have with life, especially finances. I actually talked to two people the other day who said they sent my blogs to their friends who were enduring financial hardships and could relate to our life and were greatly encouraged knowing they weren’t alone.

And thats why I write. It’s not to ask for money from people. Its not to bring attention to myself. I write in hopes of God being seen through our trials. We are in a season of many stresses right now but through it we are finding the true meanings of life and they have nothing to do with material things. I must specify from my last blog, that we’re not dying out here. We are okay. I don’t want people to think I wasn’t eating because we had no money. What I was trying to say was-as many people know who have money troubles-we were getting by with what we had which was chicken and rice and salad and cereal and the list could go on with the basics.

Maybe my realness overwhelms people and if thats the case I am sorry. But for those who keep coming back because something I write you can relate to, thats why I will keep writing, no matter how absurd our life may appear. But what would our life really look like if all we had was Jesus? No food or shelter or clothes. Maybe thats far out there or maybe thats where God wants us-to live a life where we know that we know that we know HE is ENOUGH. HE is our dependence, our security, our plan, and our worth.

I received a disturbing phone call tonight that brought all of this up and what is ironic is that I was reading The Barbarian Way when the phone rang. Anyone that has read this book knows it is life changing and challenges people to live their faith in a “raw and untamed” way that is barbaric. Look at John the Baptist, eating locust and honey, looking like a burly man and was homeless! Think of what people thought about him BUT he was the one chosen to proclaim that Jesus was coming. And what about Noah! Noah was told by God to build a boat in the desert. Talk about getting laughed at, weird looks, and talked about. But when the storms came, who was saved? Noah and his family. Both John the Baptist and Noah were right in the middle of God’s will but I’m sure to them it felt like anything but. I can relate!

WHAT JESUS WAS SAYING TO JOHN HAS BEEN FAR TOO BARBARIC FOR US TO KEEP IN THE MAINSTREAM OF THE CHRISTIAN FAITH. JESUS WAS SAYING TO HIM, “JOHN, I’M NOT COMING THROUGH FOR YOU. I’M NOT GETTING YOU OUT OF PRISON. I’M NOT SPARING YOUR LIFE. YES, I HAVE DONE ALL THIS AND MORE FOR OTHERS, BUT THE PATH I CHOOSE FOR YOU IS DIFFERENT FROM THEIRS. YOU’LL BE BLESSED, JOHN, IF THIS DOES NOT CAUSE YOU TO FALL AWAY…

EVEN THEN JESUS UNDERSTOOD HIS PURPOSE WAS TO SAVE US NOT FROM PAIN AND SUFFERING, BUT FROM MEANINGLESSNESS. FOR JESUS, JOHN WAS EXACTLY WHERE HE NEEDED TO BE, FULFILLING GOD’S PURPOSE FOR HIS LIFE.
-The Barbarian Way by Erwin McManus

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Holly says:

    Hey Erin, I can see you writing this…sitting there with an intense look on your face wondering how in the world did honesty cause confusion?lol…..its when we fully let loose of “our” plans, “our” ways that other people seem to step in and want to fill that space. The song by building, space in between us…I thought about that song not to long ago, and when I think of what has filled my space..for so long it was hiding behind a mask that I clenched so tightly to my face! The generation before me, has failed to loosen their grip and for years I have suffered with identifying myself with who Christ is, rather than who they wanted me to present I was. HOW FAKE is that, and who would want what I have when they looked on from the side lines. I think your realness is barbacic, heroic and a arrow for people like me! Because of your friendship, your encouragment and your willingness to be YOU “unedited” you have chosen to live your life JUST AS YOU ARE…NO REGRETS! That is what makes you:) don’t you dare change a thing! love ya sweets! Read Acts 4 (the whole thing) BOLDNESS:)

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 5 months ago
  2. * Emily says:

    So glad I found your blog- I usually try and check it through Myspace, but I like this one better because I can add it to my google/reader list and it will tell me when you update it.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 5 months ago


Leave a Reply

